Home

‘Conscia’ can be seen entirely, upon this large white wall:

(EDINBURGH COLLEGE OF ART DEGREE SHOW

C05

1ST- 9TH OF JUNE

2013)

IMG_3728

Currently my paintings explore the relationships between all elements of the universe and most recently I have consolidated this ethereal theme by making a THE BIGGEST PAINTING I EVER HAVE. Creating balance betwixt the narrative I am expressively exploring whilst expanding my knowledge of the process of painting is essential.

I allow intuition to guide the harmonious flow of subject matter into painting, creating exciting compositions, highlighted with an informative use of colour.

Colour in painting is significant to the way I communicate; what I see, absorb and relay into the painted language I use are extremely guided by the pigments and hues that I sense need to be used to express what I feel.

‘Conscia’ addresses themes which I have been working towards understanding for several years. They are about attempts to comprehend all that I am surrounded by and that affects me and to have an awareness of how to operate in relation to all elements of the universe. To me the language of painting is hugely involved with succinctly representing emotional intricacies which cannot be described or depicted by other means.

Making ‘Conscia’ has hugely enhanced my ability to perceive and deal with space, time and scale, within a large painting. It has been essential to have an intense engagement with the work, (constantly questioning my motions has been important,) which has been both enthralling and exhausting.

When I am able to provide the space and time to be totally engaged mentally, physically and spiritually in painting, life is ultimately satisfying.

1 12 13 C02 hl IMG_3627 IMG_3628

windeoIMG_3631 IMG_3632 IMG_3633 j jo oi uAUTUMNAL SCOTLAND HAIRST 053m BIGGEST!D 003 BIGGEST!D 008 BIGGEST!D 011 BIGGEST!D 013 BIGGEST!D 018 BIGGEST!D 021 hula MARCH 009 MID MARCH, PRINTING, FLEMMING 010 SNOWDROP PAINTING ZOO 049 SNOWDROP PAINTING ZOO 089

Leave a Reply

