Home

HOW TO HANG

TRADITIONAL, WHITE SPACE AROUND WORKS, THIS MAKES SENSE TO ME

I LIKE TO BE ABLE TO PERCEIVE VIEW SEE CONTEMPLATE EACH WORK ON IT ON AS ITS OWN PIECE

BUT MY SPACE IS NOT BIG ENOUGH TO SHOW VERY MANY OF THE WORKS THAT I HAVE PAINTED

I HAVE BOARDS, CANVASES, PAPER PAINTINGS AND MONO PRINTS

I AM TIRED

IT MIGHT BE GOOD TO EXPERIMENT WITH PAINTINGS HUNG UP HIGH, JIGSAWED TO GET THEM OUT AND SEEN

I COULD HANG THEM THEATRICALLY, MAKING FACES AT EACH OTHER, between paintings, PART OF THE SAME STORY?

WHAT DO I WANT MY WORK TO SAY?

I WANT IT TO SAY?

I WANT MY WORK TO SHOW A PROGRESSIVE NARRATIVE, A PATH OF UNDERSTANDING ABOUT MY OWN PLACE WITHIN THE UNIVERSE, WORKED OUT THROUGH MY EXPERIENCES UPON THIS EARTH

I ALSO WANT MY WORK TO SHOW A CONSTANTLY GROWING AWARENESS OF HOW TO USE PAINT TO COMMUNICATE IN AS SUCCINCT A WAY AS POSSIBLE. I STRIVE TO LEARN MORE AND MORE ABOUT THE ACT OF PAINTING: COLOUR, COMPOSITION, BRUSH STROKES, TONE, CONSISTENCY

.

TRACEY EMIN TEXT/ BLANKETS, BE AWARE…OK I AM, I FEEL I HAVEN’T EVER CONSCIOUSLY TAKEN ADVICE FROM THE FORM OF HER WORDS

I ACTUALLY THINK HER LETTERS ARE A BIT FATTER AND LESS SHAPELY THAN MINE, MORE CHILDLIKE AND SAMEY. NOT DEFENSIVE, ACCURATE AND SUBJECTIVE I’M SURE.

THE SIZE AND SHAPE OF MY LETTERS VARY DEPENDING ON WHAT THE ALPHABET SYMBOLS ADDING UP TO ENGLISH WORDS NEED TO SAY AS COMPONENTS OF EACH WORK

.

YES IT HAS BEEN GOOD TO WORK ON A SMALLER SCALE THIS SEMESTER, TO ENHANCE MY ABILITY TO COMPOSE COMPOSITIONS. I WAS DETERMINED TO WORK WITHIN MY SPACE, TO FEEL A CENTERED HOME IN WHICH TO CREATE

AND ALSO IT HAS BEEN GREAT TO FEEL FREE IN A LARGE SPACE OVER THE LAST WEEK,

I HAVE BEEN PAINTING IN THE LYCEUM REHEARSAL ROOMS

IT HAS BEEN WONDERFUL TO FEEL NO BOUNDS AGAIN

THE CHALLENGE OF SIZE IS SUCH AN INSPIRATIONAL PLEASURE

I LIKE TO PAINT WITH SOCKS ON

UP AND DOWN AND SIDE TO SIDE, TO USE MY WHOLE BODY

THE REVIVAL OF FREEDOM I EXPERIENCED LAST WEEK HAS ALERTED ME TO THE DESIRE TO MAKE SOME ARRANGEMENTS TO CREATE WITH LARGER PERIMETERS

Leave a Reply

